Feedback Form

Reviews

Average Customer Rating: (based on 38 reviews)

(3.5 stars vs. 3.3 category average)

Write a Review

(8)

(13)

(10)

(3)

(4)

Displaying 1-10 out of 38 reviews

Superbaz
Superbaz

Expert Trader

OANDA

6/22/2014

0 of 0 customers found this helpful (0%)

Pros:
Low spreads, Easy-to-use platform, Good customer support, Solid trading platform, Good transaction reporting
Cons:
None
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Quote:
Been using now for over 4 years find it excellent service, very secure people to deal with after all they have your money!
I feel very safe here
I found this review:
| |
|
dlucy
dlucy

Expert Trader

Job Updation

10/9/2013

0 of 0 customers found this helpful (0%)

Pros:
Low spreads
Cons:
Hard to-use platform
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Quote:
Nice Broker, Service area good for traders
I found this review:
| |
|
Optimus_Prime
Optimus_Prime

Expert Trader

Be careful if you are a news trader!

9/15/2013

0 of 0 customers found this helpful (0%)

Pros:
None
Cons:
Spread widens frequently
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend
Quote:
You should be careful if there are news. They widen the spread as much as they can and if you have the stop loss not far from the current price they will run to it. In the rest of the time it is okay but for news they are bad. E.g. you can see 15 -20 pips spread for GBP/USD without any problems.
I found this review:
| |
|
JackL
JackL

Expert Trader

Solid.

7/6/2013

0 of 0 customers found this helpful (0%)

Pros:
Low spreads, Easy-to-use platform, Good customer support, Solid trading platform, Web-based platform
Cons:
Spread widens frequently
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Quote:
Solid for new traders and experienced. Just not for news trading (widened spreads around news releases.)
I found this review:
| |
|
Pendul
Pendul

Intermediate Trader

Another Good One

12/7/2012

0 of 0 customers found this helpful (0%)

Pros:
Easy-to-use platform
Cons:
None
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Quote:
No major complaints from me.... I switched to Easy Forex which is just the same.
I found this review:
| |
|
FXtrading
FXtrading

Intermediate Trader

Not for News trading

5/5/2012

2 of 2 customers found this helpful (100%)

Pros:
Low spreads
Cons:
Spread widens frequently
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend
Quote:
The main issue that distracts me from this broker is that spread really widens during news announcements. Otherwise, good broker.
I found this review:
| |
|
machiavel
machiavel

Expert Trader

mt4 not well supported!

4/28/2012

2 of 2 customers found this helpful (100%)

Pros:
Low spreads, Good customer support, Good transaction reporting, Web-based platform, Mobile platform
Cons:
Spread widens frequently
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend
Quote:
I am a Canadian and I have 4 years of experience trading with MetaTrader 4. I have been trading with OANDA Canada for 1 month. I decided to close my account for 2 reasons:

Number 1: The margin requirements that are calculated by MT4 and what is calculated by the fxTrade platform are very different, over 50% diffrence. This is due to Canadian regulation and as nothing to do with them; here was their reply to my email:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Thank you for contacting OANDA. The reason you have seen different margin requirements between your fxTrade and your MT4 account is because of the Canadian Margin Requirements. Canadian Regulations stipulate each currency pair has specific margin requirements associated with it. The fxTrade platform calculates each of these and combines them in its display of your margin used.

The MT4 platform does not allow us enough flexibility to set proper margin requirements on a per-symbol basis. This means it does not display the correct margin available and margin used for your Canadian account.

To view the correct margin requirements, please check your fxTrade account. Margin closeout levels are calculated on fxTrade.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Number 2: MT4 is not fully supported, they do not properly support “magic number”, here is what they had to say:

Hello,
For the past three years, I have developed an EA that I have used with success with Gain Capital (www.forex.com). Since last week I have opened an account with you and I have been experiencing some problems.
I think that there is a problem with the synchronization of trades between your fxTrade platform and the MT4 platform.
The problem that I have is that some trades are closed for no reason. My EA does not close trades, when a trade is open it is closed by a TP. Here is a list of suspect trades:
Please let me know what you think.
Regards,
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thank you for contacting OANDA.

MT4 is offered as a trade placement facility. OANDA's ability to resolve issues on MT4 is sometimes limited by limitations with the MT4 software, which is a third-party trading application.

Unfortunately we do not support EA as well as magic numbers. The magic number is generated by your own EA, and it is not recorded in our system. We corrected the display issue yesterday by assigning new order numbers to the trades from our internal system. Since the new orders were not executed via your EA, they were not assigned with a new magic number.

We have checked the affected trades again, and noticed that there are two trades remaining (ticket xxxxxx and xxxxxx) in your account. You may close these two trades and reopen new positions via your EA to obtain the magic numbers.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Here was my reply:

I understand your point, but let me say that I’m very disappointed. Anybody using MT4 is using it for its ability to use thousands of EA that are commercially available. Any EA out in the market uses a different Magic number. The magic number is need so that the EA knows what trades it owns.

When you correct a trade and do not correct the magic number, the EA loses track of that trade and cannot control it.

If Oanda does not support magic number on correction made by your staff then OANDA is not a reliable broker for MT4.

MT4 allows a user to trade using multiple EA on the same account. The only way that an EA can control the trades that it opens is by the magic number.

In your response, when you say : “Unfortunately we do not support EA as well as magic numbers”. I’m not asking for support for my EA, I’m just asking to be compliant with MT4. The fact is that EAs need magic number to operate correctly.

Please forward this email to your supervisor so that they know that OANDA is not a reliable MT4 broker.

This information should be made available to all MT4 users.

Here was their reply:

Thank you for contacting OANDA.

OANDA does not have the infrastructure set up to reassign correct magic number if the original one has been deleted due to the fact that MT4 platform is currently a third party platform. However, our technical team is aware of the demand for such features and most likely will be working to improve it in the future. Please note that in normal cases the magic numbers should not be changed and will function correctly. It only happened this time because there was a synchronization issue in our system which caused some trades to be out of sync. This issue has been resolved already, so if you are to place more trades, you shouldn't experience this problem again. We apologize for the inconveniences caused and will do our best to prevent it from happening again.

I hope this information was helpful. Please contact us if you have any further questions.
I found this review:
| |
|
briwdon
briwdon

Expert Trader

Terrible slippage

3/31/2012

0 of 0 customers found this helpful (0%)

Pros:
Low spreads, Easy-to-use platform
Cons:
Poor customer support
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend
Quote:
Trade execution is poor!
I found this review:
| |
|
Pippy
Pippy

Expert Trader

Not as I expected...

10/31/2011

0 of 0 customers found this helpful (0%)

Pros:
Easy-to-use platform
Cons:
Spread widens frequently, Poor customer support, Wide spreads, Unstable platform
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend
Quote:
Most of my friends agree, not sure what happened... I use to love Oanda, but recently not so much. I am using their MT4 product and my EA's are not performing well.

I have accounts with 7 different brokers. I use the same EA's on all 7 accounts (4xlounge, Matrix and a custom EA). The results are pretty much the same with all brokers except my Oanda account. My Oanda account frequently misses trades and/or slips the entry by as much as 18 pips. Take a close look at the candles. The Oanda spreads are all over the place.

It might be a technology issue with Oanda's MT4, but I would not use them at the moment.
I found this review:
| |
|
despe906
despe906

Expert Trader

Thievery stop hunting

7/7/2011

0 of 0 customers found this helpful (0%)

Pros:
Easy-to-use platform
Cons:
Spread widens frequently, Wide spreads
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend
Quote:
You may be seduced by the charts and fancy indicators, but when your broker moves the price by 50 pips off the spot market to close your position with a loss, it means this broker is a thief. See description and screenshots here: http://despe906.blogspot.com/2011/07/oanda-thievery-shabby-broker.html
I found this review:
| |
|

Displaying 1-10 out of 38 reviews

« back to item page